Wednesday, August 26, 2015

Review: Shattered Frost by Liz DeJesus

First Frost
The Frost Series Book # 1
By-Liz DeJesus
Publication Date- June 22nd, 2015
Published By - Indie Gypsy

Fairytales aren’t real…yeah…that’s exactly what Bianca thought. She was wrong.

For generations, the Frost family has run the Museum of Magical and Rare Artifacts, handing down guardianship from mother to daughter, always keeping their secrets to “family only.”

Gathered within museum’s walls is a collection dedicated to the Grimm fairy tales and to the rare items the family has acquired: Cinderella’s glass slipper, Snow White’s poisoned apple, the evil queen’s magic mirror, Sleeping Beauty’s enchanted spinning wheel…

Seventeen-year-old Bianca Frost wants none of it, dreaming instead of a career in art or photography or…well, anything except working in the family’s museum. She knows the items in the glass display cases are fakes because, of course, magic doesn’t really exist.

She’s about to find out how wrong she is.


Glass Frost
The Frost Series Book # 2
By- Liz DeJesus
Publication Date- June 22nd, 2015

When joined together, Cinderella's slippers grant the wearer her heart's desire. But whose wish will be granted?

When Cinderella’s glass slipper is stolen, Queen Felicia sends her faithful steward Terrance to the real world to retrieve his love and witch-in-training, Bianca Frost. The power of the glass slipper, when paired with its mate, and in the wrong hands, could ruin the peace of Everafter. Bianca must gather every bit of magic she has learned in the past few weeks to find the slipper and protect her new love. Together, Bianca, Ming, Prince Ferdinand, and Terrance venture deep into the heart of Everafter to seek clues as to who has stolen the slipper and why. Along the way, they uncover what happened to the Seven Dwarves after Snow White married the prince, but also learn the awful risk of tampering with black magic and the high price that must be paid for magic, even when used for good.

Bianca and Terrance’s relationship is put to the test. Through the pain of suffering and loss, Bianca must determine if following her gallant boyfriend into his faraway world is in fact her heart's desire.


Shattered Frost
The Frost Series # 3
By- Liz DeJesus
Publication Date- August 15th, 2015

Bianca Frost and her BFF Ming Lee return to Everafter to attend the Winter Ball with their boyfriends, Terrance and Prince Ferdinand. They were looking forward to a short vacation, especially Bianca, who is being bullied at school. She is looking forward to the day when she can finally graduate from high school. But all is not cute hair and fancy shoes as a mysterious count sets his sights on Bianca at the ball. When Count Jonathan Bleu kidnaps Bianca and Ming, the pair must do everything in their power to escape his clutches. In this amazing adventure, Bianca and Ming find themselves traveling down a rabbit hole, where they have to survive the madness of Wonderland in order to make it back home to the men they love.

Bianca and Ming must travel to the Queen of Hearts’ labyrinth, find Bluebeard’s key and save Jack of Hearts before Bianca loses everything she holds dear.


Review: I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review

I love the Frost series. All of the books are so much fun. The characters are entertaining, and the fantasy world created by Ms. DeJesus is fascinating. I enjoy the multiple fairy tales that appear in each story and was quite pleased when she tackled one of my favorite fictional places of all-- Wonderland.

Bianca and Ming are in for another adventure in Shattered Frost. Really, you'd think they'd be used to it by now. Go to Everafter and chaos ensues. Bianca seems to be a magnet for trouble and attracts the attention of a very evil man/ghost. This leads to kidnapping, a daring escape, and a crazy adventure through Wonderland.

The story is fast-paced and hard to put down-- one of those 'just one more chapter' books. I liked the scenes from Terrance's point of view. They added to the overall feel of the story, made it complete. The vivid descriptions of Wonderland were superb, drawing me into that magical place.

If you haven't started this series, pick up a copy of First Frost. This one should definitely be read in order for maximum enjoyment. If you love fairy tale retellings as much as I do, I think you'll love this series.

About the Author-
Liz DeJesus was born on the tiny island of Puerto Rico.  She is a novelist and a poet. She has been writing for as long as she was capable of holding a pen. She is the author of the novel Nina (Blu Phi'er Publishing, October 2007), The Jackets (Arte Publico Press, March 2011) First Frost (Re-realeased through Indie Gypsy Summer 2015), Glass Frost (Re-released through Indie Gypsy Summer 2015), Shattered Frost (Indie Gypsy, Summer 2015) and Morgan (Indie Gypsy, July 2014). Her work has also appeared in Night Gypsy: Journey Into Darkness (Indie Gypsy, October 2012), Twice Upon a Time (Bearded Scribe Press, Winter 2015) and Someone Wicked (Smart Rhino Publications, Winter 2013).
Liz is currently working on a new novel and a comic book series titled Zombie Ever After (Emerald Star Comics, Fall 2014).

Social Media Links-


  1. فروشگاه آهن و فولاد آسرون یکی از با سابقه ترین و معتبر ترین کمپانی های عرضه کننده و تولید کننده انواع آهن آلات ساختمانی از جمله میلگرد، ناودانی ، تیرآهن، پروفیل، تیرچه وبلوک، پشم شیشه و ... صنعتی و فولاد در کشور می باشد. حال که چند سالی از راه اندازی فروشگاه اینترنتی آسرون گذشته است. این برند به دنبال تاثیر گذاری بیشتر در بازار و صنعت فولاد کشور می باشد. لذا اگر به دنبال برندی معتبر وقابل اطمینان در حوزه خرید وفروش آهن آلات ساختمانی هستید، آسرون را به خاطر بسپارید.
    قیمت میلگرد کویر کاشان
    فولاد روهینا جنوب 
    پروفیل تهران شرق

  2. یکی از محصولاتی که قبلا به صورت سنتی به فروش میرسید انواع ورق آهن و ورق فولادی است. اما امروزه با توسعه بستر اینترنت فروش این محصول در فروشگاه های آنلاین نیز رونق بسیاری یافته است. خرید و فروش محصولات آهنی و غیر آهنی در وبسایت مزیت عمده ای که دارد این است که تمام محصولات و قیمت آنها راز کارخانه ای مختلف را می توانید به سرعت و با یک کلیک مشاهده و مقایسه کنید. به طور مثال شرکت آهن اول یکی از اولین شرکت هایی است که حوزه ی کاری خود را از فروئش فیزیکی به فروش آنلاین وسعت داد. برای مشاهده قیمت انواع ورق فولادی می توانید از اینجا مشاهده کنید و با مقایسه با قیمت سایر شرکت ها به مزیت رقابتی این شرکت که همانا قیمت روز و مناسب آن است پی ببرید.


Sorry, but the spammers are back. I'll need everyone to prove that they aren't a robot for a bit. Please don't let that stop you from commenting. I love your comments-- the spammers... not so much.

Thanks for stopping by! Your comments make my day. Really!!